William Ackerman “Interview” video from “Returning”

Wonder what William Ackerman has been up to these past few years? While the Windham Hill label as a mark of new music is gone, many of the artists continue to record and perform new music that equals or betters what we fell in love with some 30 years ago.

Here is a video straight from Will’s press kit that was recorded at the time of “Returning”. This gives terrific background insight into Windham Hill, and let’s you hear some excerpts from the excellent “Returning” album. Since then, Will has also released the outstanding “New England Roads” which I consider a must-have for any Ackerman fan. Enjoy.

Check out just a few of the currently performing and recording artists who made their mark with Windham Hill:

Alex De Grassi at http://www.degrassi.com

Mark Isham at http://www.isham.com

Barbara Higbie: http://www.barbarahigbie.com/

Scott Cossu: http://scottcossu.com/

Darol Anger: http://www.darolanger.com/

Mike Marshall: http://mikemarshall.net/

George Winston: http://www.georgewinston.com/us/home

Russel Walder: http://www.russelwalder.com/page.html

Michael Manring: http://www.manthing.com/Manthing/home.html

David Qualey: http://www.david-qualey.com/

2 Replies to “William Ackerman “Interview” video from “Returning””

  1. This video was a terrific find. I loved how Ackerman describes how he attempts to capture specific emotions and specific moments with his compositions. Thanks for sharing this with us. I’m thinking I will get hold of a copy of “Returning” – if only for the newer recording of “Bricklayer’s Beautiful Daughter.”

  2. Returning is terrific, if only for the excellent sound quality. That being said, I have and love all of the original versions of the songs, and so I’m more excited by “New England Roads” which feels like it breaks some newer ground and is generally more cheerful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *